A2A Simulations Comanche 250 Review

1

A2A Commanche 250

The Piper PA-24 Comanche is a four-seat, low-wing, all-metal, light aircraft of semi-monocoque construction with tricycle retractable landing gear. Piper Aircraft designed and developed the Comanche, which first flew on May 24, 1956. Together with the Twin Comanche, it made up the core of the Piper Aircraft lineup until 1972, when the production lines for both aircraft were wiped out in a flood.

piper_comanche_250_taxi_by_shelbs2-d37clix

A2A Simulations are renowned for their attention to detail and unquestioned superiority in the study level GA Aircraft sector. Scott from A2A Simulations actually owns one of these aircraft in real life and therefore it was easier for them to get a better idea of how the aircraft flew because they own one. Im surprised that this wasn’t the first aircraft they developed from the Accu-sim range. But I’m certainly glad that they developed it.

Exterior

As always the exterior modelling of this aircraft is fantastic. I don’t know what it is about A2A aircraft but they seem to have something different, a sort special ingredient in the texturing that just makes it look alive. As you would expect, all aspects of the exterior are modeled right down to the breaking system in the wheels to the lights on the tips of the wings.

2015-7-15_15-10-32-870

The customisation that is available on the models is something that sets it apart from other developers. The control panel allows you to change things like the prop and adding objects that make the aircraft go faster like gear shields and flap covers.

One thing I really like about the model is the reflections that it makes on itself. It truly looks like a shiny new aircraft when you get it and so shiny intact that it reflects onto itself.

2015-7-15_15-9-17-342

Interior

Just look at it! It’s stunning! A2A have once again done an excellent job at modeling the interior of the comanche 250. They must have spent hours inside taking pictures of almost every aspect of the plane to get it exactly right in the sim. In most aircraft, the thing that lets them down is the lighting for night and day. Most of the time it always looks blown out and way to bright to look remotely realistic. However A2A seems to have got it right, the lighting is soft and looks very authentic. They even have a special feature that I have’t seen on any other aircraft, it’s red night lighting!

2015-7-15_15-15-14-610

Instrument panel is a work of art! Individual 3D objects for each needle inside a gauge just adds to the realism and when you set certain power settings vibrations make the needles shake. Overall a really nicely modelled instrument panel that looks very good both at day and night.

2015-7-15_15-8-12-328

Handling

Like all the accu-sim aircraft this handles similar to the real thing. This can be verified because the people who designed and developed it own the real aircraft. I going to guess that Scott must have a fair few hours in the Comanche 250 and that only confirms to me that it must handle similarly to the real thing.

Onto the actual characteristics, when you fly this aircraft to the edge of it’s flight envelope there are distinct signs and actions that the aircraft follows. If you stall the aircraft you will almost certainly get extreme wing drop and if this is not corrected it will lead to a spin.

2015-7-15_15-7-56-358

Overall very nicely modelled and I have no complaints about the handling of the aircraft execpt that it’s trimmer is on the ceiling of the aircraft! Why would you put it there?

Conclusion

In conclusion, the Piper Comanche 250 by A2A Simulations is a Solid, well modelled and beautiful aircraft. A2A simulations have done it proud and before they announced the development of this aircraft I hadn’t even heard of it! The interior and exterior modelling is the best that I’ve seen them do. If you’re in the market for a faster and heavier aircraft than all the other accu-sim aircraft then this is definitely your aircraft and at a price of $49.99 it certainly worth every cent! Good Job A2A!

Verdict

9.3 Awesome

If you’re in the market for a faster and heavier aircraft than all the other accu-sim aircraft then this is definitely your aircraft and at a price of $49.99 it certainly worth every cent! Good Job A2A!

  • Exterior 9
  • Interior 10
  • Handling 9
  • User Ratings (13 Votes) 7.4
Share.

About Author

Hi, I'm the Managing Editor for PCFlight, If you'd like to contact me you can do so via my email: thomas@pcflight.net I hope you enjoy your visit to our website and if there's anything you think we can do better please don't hesitate to get in contact!

1 Comment

Leave A Reply